Cloud Library Browsing
The Cloud Library is a feature of Optimole to free up some disk space on your WordPress-based website. All images processed by Optimole can be moved from your WordPress Media Library to the could based infrastructure used by our service.
How can I enable this feature?
This option is available in the WordPress plugin, in Dashboard -> Media -> Optimole, check the Settings tab, and the Cloud Integration page. Enable the toggle near the Enable cloud library browsing.
From the same page, you can also sync images meaning that the last uploaded items will also be migrated to Optimole's cloud. Click on the red button called Sync images to start the offloading.
We use the wp_generate_attachment_metadata hook to offload every new image that is uploaded to the server so as long as "Enable offloading images" is toggled to Enabled - your new images are always being offloaded to our CDN.
What happens to my images?
Your images will be transferred to the Optimole cloud-based library and removed from your website. You can still see them by navigating to Dashboard -> Media -> Library. The only difference is that the images will not be stored on your server and will be served from our global CDN. Only the URL of an image will be used on your pages.
How can I get them back?
The images can be restored from the Dashboard of your WordPress website. You can navigate to Dashboard -> Media -> Optimole, check the Settings tab, and the Cloud Integration page, and click on the red button Rollback images.
What happens to my website if I disable the plugin with the images offloaded?
In this situation, the images won't be visible on your website anymore, meaning your website's visitors won't see them also. The solution is to activate the plugin again, this way, the redirect to the correct URLs within the Optimole cloud will work again. You can also roll the images back, however, that's up to you as it's not mandatory to make them visible again. Just activating the plugin back will fix the images.
In case it doesn't work, please make sure that your Optimole's API key is active in the plugin settings and the URL of your website appears in the Optimole's Dashboard -> Allowed Domains.
What happens to my website if my Optimole plan expires with the images offloaded?
In this case, the images won't be visible on your website anymore, meaning your website's visitors won't see them also. The solution is to activate the plugin again and roll the images back - details here.
Is it mandatory to offload images to have Optimole working properly on my website?
No, this feature is purely optional and it doesn't affect the way Optimole works. Your images can still be optimized even if this feature is disabled.